My Current Job (and an update)

current-job

I am a part-time freelance content writer and a part-time student. I don’t really like saying that I work as a ‘content writer’ because I never thought I could become one. Job satisfaction – 6.58/10, I bet that’s pretty low. What’s your job satisfaction on a ten point scale?

So because of the unacceptably low fulfillment that my job is giving me, I have decided to take up something of a side-hustle, grow it and then quit my ‘writing’ career as a ghost-writer where I feel terribly underpaid. I agree that starting my own business and not working for others may mean lower income and perhaps even failure, but at least I will have scope for improvement, something that is almost impossible in my current scenario.

I will keep my day-job until I start getting enough returns from my new venture because otherwise, I may end up broke and devastated.

As far as the new venture is concerned, I am going to focus on publishing. I figured that if people hire me to write content for them I must be capable of producing quality content that sells. So why not do it for me? I have (figuratively) hired myself to write my first book. Cannot tell to much about it now, but that it is very short and the outline is ready. I have started writing it but it seemed hard to stay motivated without a deadline. Setting up a deadline feels hard because I want to take into account my comfort too, but if I get too lazy I will never get anything done.

I have decided on the 15th of February. I will submit the final draft of the book by the end of the day and will update you guys about it.

Are there any goals or personal projects that you have been postponing lately? Let’s set a deadline and work for it like we do when our employer sets one.

time-839884_1920The clock is ticking, good luck!

Leave a Reply

